We are a blog

My photo

Hi, my name is Biju P R. I am a writer, teacher and academic blogger. Anything that comes through society and technology interest me. My blog posts here define what am I doing here. Please just check it out.

Share this Blog

Sunday, November 28, 2010

political parties in kerala


erala Political Parties

The Kerala Government is chosen by regular polls held in the state. This allows for the direct representatives of the people to be part of the legislature. Thus it is to the popular opinion that the process of law making is subservient. The ideal of universal suffrage allows every adult and capable citizen of the state to cast a vote in favor of his /her preferred candidate.

The citizens of this state cast their vote in favor of that candidate whose political ideologies are supported by them. In order to get a clear idea of the prospective leaders political ideals, the candidate’s political party is examined. In India political parties have been formed to protect the interests of various factions of people subscribing to various religions, communities, social, cultural, economic and political ideologies. To ensure that no group goes unrepresented in the legislative process, different political parties have been formed and are registered with the Election Commission.

A party that is recognized in 4 or more states is called a national party and that which is localized to 3 or less states is called a state party. The election commission assigns symbols to represent these parties. The national parties have permanent symbols.

It is the party that gains the popular support that forms the ruling party and the Governor invites the leader of the ruling party to form the Government. The Opposition too elects a leader. This Chief Minister is sworn in by the Governor of the state and also chooses the various leaders of his party to head the various ministries of the Government. Together they constitute the executive of the government. Currently in Kerala, there is a coalition (LDF) of various parties that rules the state and the Chief Minister, Mr. V.S. Achuthanandan belongs to CPI(M) The Opposition consists of the Congres-I led (UDF) .

Maps Of India brings you a list of the National Parties of Kerala which have made their presence felt on a national basis. These parties try to build up a national character and assimilate the experiences and agendas. Also Maps Of India brings you a guide through the State Parties of Kerala which lend support to the regional interests of the state.

Kerala Assembly Elections

2007 Assembly Elections

When the state of Kerala was formed after merging with Travancore, the State was under the President's rule. The first election in the newly formed state took place in March 1957. During that time there were 126 Assembly Constituencies and 16 Parliamentary Constituencies. At present the south Indian state of Kerala has 140 Assembly Constituencies and 20 Parliamentary Constituencies.

These 140 Assembly constituency seats in Kerala include 126 seats that are reserved for the general candidates who contest the elections, 13 seats are reserved for Schedule Castes and 1 seat is reserved for Schedule Tribes.

The Returning Officer (R.O.) is responsible for conducting elections in Assembly Constituencies and Parliamentary of Kerala according to the section 21 of the Representation of the People Act 1951. The District Collectors of Kerala act as R.Os in the Kerala districts.

In the current Kerala Assembly Elections of 2006, the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front defeated the Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front by a margin of 56 seats. LDF secured 98 seats and UDF secured 42 seats while other parties secured o seat.

No comments:

Post a Comment